top of page

Graduate Teaching Assistant at The University of Oklahoma


I want to express my deep gratitude to the University of Oklahoma and the Department of Communication for let me teach as a Graduate Teaching Assistant for three years in a row. As OU has become my alma mater as PhD graduate student, to teach is for me an essential part of academy. In OU I had the privilege to participate in the beautiful exchange of knowledge and culture that occur in the classroom.


In the adventure of teaching I think that the education of the individual can and should be assumed as a personal commitment. The kind of commitment that goes beyond the formal academic spaces. We, as scholars, must develop in our students and disciples the thirst for knowledge, wisdom and understanding. Is by asking questions and help develop understanding of the different social dynamics that rules (or will rule) our contemporary world (in other words, investigate) that our commitment should be fulfilled.


The belief of an academic scholar should be the extension of the academic activity beyond the, classrooms, the campus, the formal academy spaces, to have an impact in society. This can only be achieved with a correct balance between teaching, research and extension activities, all together to have a real impact in the community.


I want to think that I have, the soul, the heart and the mind of an academic. However, something is true for me: I still have a lot to learn, and the university is the place where it is through others that we become ourselves. (Lev S. Vygotsky).


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page